What is Prophecy for Today?

Posted: January 14, 2015 in religion

Prophecy for Today is a blog by me, Dan Robb.  I am Student Pastor and have a high interest in bible prophecy.  Some might say, “What gives me the authority to write a blog?”  I earned a Master Divinity and have been studying bible prophecy for the last five years.  I believe people should know and comprehend not only the bible, but the prophecies in it.

Bible prophecy might be considered a scary subject however, it was meant to be understood.  Revelation 1:3 says, “Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it because the time is near.”  I do believe in the return of the Lord (John 14:1-3).  I also believe in a Rapture of the Church.  Who is this church made of?  People who believe in Jesus Christ for eternal life (John 3:16; 6:47).  A person does not need to belong to a church or get baptized in order to go to heaven.  While those things are good and should be done, they are not necessary in order to receive salvation.

I take a conservative approach to scripture.  In order to interpret the Bible correctly one must investigate the context, grammar, style, audience (to whom is talking or talking to), and history.  Otherwise people could make the Bible say whatever it is they wanted it to say and many have done this and continue to do so today.  You may disagree with my theological position and I am fine with that, however, have courtesy when commenting.  I realize people get heated and talking religion, however, there is no need to be rude.  I will respect your opinion and hopefully we can have a lively dialogue when exchanging ideas.

May the peace of Christ comfort your hearts.

Leave a Reply

